Jyotish Shastra a Vedanga.

This section aims at philosophical background  of Jyotish Shastra, which literally means General Astrology. This gives a broad traditional outlook as described during vedic period. The vedic scheme of knowledge comprises of four Vedas viz,
  • Rig veda,
  • Yajur veda.
  • Sama veda and
  • Atharva veda.

Vedas date back to more than 300 centuries before Christ. Our ancient Sages / Seers  compiled this knowledge and transmitted to the generations by Shruti (Listening and Memorising) and smriti (Memory). The vedic knowledge is in the form of slokas in Sanskrit. This has been disseminated from generation to generation by oral transmission as on print media was available at that time. The knowledge has been transmitted orally to the posterity and to the people of required intellectual caliber. The Ancient Wisdom has been categorized broadly in the following way according to its importance:-

  1. Four Vedas
  2. Upanishads
  3. Bhashyas
  4. Puranas – Stories – Ramayana and Mahabharata.
Enable Notifications OK No thanks

Copyright © 2024 |